Connect, Grow, Thrive

Basics of web publishing

How to log in

  • At the top right of every page, there is a button that says "Log In"
  • Click the button and enter your username and password
  • When you are logged in, the "Log In" button changes to "Log Out"
  • If you are someone who can make changes to the site, you will now see a black bar at the top of every page. This bar has menus that will allow you to create content and do other things. You don't need to use these menus, there are simpler ways to you to edit your pages.

How to find your page

  • Use the menu bar (Events, Communities, Journal, etc.) and navigate to the correct area, for example, Regions or SIGs under Communities.
  • The individual Regions and SIGs are listen in alphabetical order on their "Parent" pages.
    • Pages are referred to as parents and children, this explains how they fit together in the site structure. This bullet point is a child of the one above it, for example. The line "How to find your page" has 3 children ("Use the menu bar...", "The individual Regions..." and "Our main menu").
  • Our main menu only shows one level of child pages. You may have to click a couple of times to get to your page. It's always handy to bookmark pages you visit frequently so you can get to them quickly in the future!

How to start editing

  • When you are logged in, you will see 4 tabs just below the menu bar every page on the website (users who don't have editing permissions will not see these): "View", "Edit", "Revisions", and "Unpublish". 
  • Go to the page that you would like to edit and click the "Edit" tab. You will now open the editor on that page.
  • BE CAREFUL! You can edit every page on the site. Please only edit your own pages!

What is all this stuff?!

When you open the editor, you'll see three main areas: the titles, the content area and (not to get too technical) other stuff. We are using a system called Drupal to manage our content. It's similar to Wordpress and some other Wiki software. If you have used those, it should be somewhat familiar. 

Titles

  • The titles will be provided for you, in most cases. You shouldn't need to worry about these.
  • Your page has 2 titles. The "Internal Title" is mandatory, it is used by Drupal to name and find the page. The second line, "Title", is optional and you can leave this field blank if you don't want the title to be displayed above your body text.

Content area

  • The content area has 3 tabs: "Content", "Header", and "Teasers". We will talk about headers and teasers on another page.
  • In the content area, you will see a window which is labeled "Body" and a text editor. This is where you put your words, images, links, videos, etc. We'll talk more about each of these on another page.

Other stuff

  • At the bottom of the page is some other stuff. Everything here will be set up for you, you don't need to worry about "Menu settings", "URL path settings", etc.
  • I'll talk about "Revision information" and "Publishing options" on another page, but 99% of you won't need to use these features.

Save, save, save

  • The save button is at the very bottom of the page. 
  • You must manually save your work! There is no auto-save feature, and if you leave the page or close the window before you save, you will lose your work!
  • When you click the save button, you will leave the editor and view the published page. This is a good way to be sure you save before you close the window: if you are in the text editor, SAVE!
  • You can go back to previous versions that you saved. The "Revisions" tab is at the top of the editor and at the top of the published pages. I'll talk more about revisions on another page.

Delete means delete!

  • Next to the save button is the delete button, you will only see this button on pages which you have created yourself. You can't delete someone else's page.
  • Deleting is forever and there is no "Undo"! You will get a warning that "you cannot undo this action" if you click the button.
  • You can make your page blank by selecting the text in the "Body" text editor and deleting it with the keys on your keyboard. Then save the page and it will just be blank. 
  • You can hide your page from view by "unpublishing" it. Click on "Publishing options" at the bottom of the page, and then un-tick the box next to "Published". Now, only people who have permission to edit our website will be able to see your page, and it will be labeled as "Unpublished"